Independence Day Commission


Ordinance. Chapter 2 – Administration, Article V. Additional Boards and Commissions, Division 2. Independence Day Commission


Appointing Authority
City Council

There are 20 members on this Commission, including 16 residents, two members of City Council (non-voting), the Recreation Director (non-voting) and the Superintendent (or his/her designee) of city schools (non-voting).

The Commissioners serve three year terms that expire on August 31.

Meeting Dates and Times
This Commission meets at 7 p.m. on the first Wednesday of February through June and the first Wednesday of September (to evaluate the year's event).

Meeting Location
Community Center
City of Oak Park
14300 Oak Park Blvd.
Oak Park, MI 48237


Actively Serving Members

The following individuals are active members of this Commission:
Ruth Allon
Juanita Bell
Shalawn Jones
Demetra Johnson
Mara Staller Starr
Barb Weiskopf
Jim Weiskopf
Beverly Wiggins
vacancies - 8

City Council Representative: Solomon Radner, Council Member
City Council Representative: Kiesha Speech, Council Member
Staff Liaison: Laurie Stasiak, Director of Recreation

Events and Activities
Mayor's 5K Race
Independence Day Parade
Fun Fest


Rules of Procedure


Meeting Minutes