Parks and Recreation Commission


This Commission was established by Ordinance O-17-647 on June 19, 2017, as a combination of the previously existing Independence Day Commission and the Recreation Advisory Board. CM-06-244-17

Appointing Authority

City Council


The commission is composed of 9 members. In addition, one member of the city council, and the city director of recreation shall be appointed to serve as ex-officio members, but shall not be entitled to vote.

The Board Members serve three year terms which expire on August 31.

Meeting Dates and Times
The Commission meets the third Wednesday of the month at 7 p.m. in the Community Center.

Meeting Location
Community Center
City of Oak Park
14300 Oak Park Blvd.
Oak Park, MI 48237


It shall be the duty of the Parks and Recreation Commission to provide advice to the Oak Park Recreation Department, based on feedback from all segments of the City's diverse population. The commission will develop strategies for connecting with representatives from City Council, neighborhood and school groups, organizations, synagogues, churches and other groups that are representative of the City'S diversity, and will actively encourage citizen participation. The
Commission will support the values of sustainability, equity, engagement, and sound economics in providing quality and safe recreation programs and facilities for the City of Oak Park. The Commission will assist with planning, promoting, executing and evaluating of public recreation, parks, programs and other department special events.

Actively Serving Members

The following individuals are active members of this Board:

Mickey Alderman
Juanita Bell
Andrew Cissell
Patrick North
Alexander Simpson
Diane Spiller
Dwight Thomas
Theresa Lorick-Henderson
Beverly Wiggins
Julie Edgar, Council Member
Laurie Stasiak, Recreation Director

Events and Activities


Meeting Minutes

Please view minutes on MunicodeMunicode